Log in

waterloo region law association

Log in

Coulter Osborne Award

"Awarded by the Waterloo Law Association to one of its members whose integrity, comity and beneficence in professional practice and public life uphold the highest traditions of the profession and enhance the reputation of the Association and its members."

These words are inscribed on a commissioned original glass sculpture created by Elora sculptor Heather Wood.  The names of each recipient are etched on a small companion glass piece that is displayed with the sculpture.


After a long and renowned career as a respected litigation lawyer in Waterloo Region, The Honourable Coulter A. Osborne went on to be appointed a Justice of the Superior Court, a Justice of the Ontario Court of Appeal and Integrity Commissioner of Ontario.  It is fitting that in 2003 when the Association decided to institute an award to recognize Waterloo Region lawyers who combine impeccable professional standards of practice with civility and consideration for those with whom they work, that Coulter Osborne would agree to have this award named in his honour.


2003 Brian P. Eby, Ludwig Lichtenheldt & Eby (1949 - 2011)

2004 Vernon B. Copp, Q.C., Copp & Cosman

2005 W. H. Peter Madorin, Q.C., Madorin Snyder LLP

2006 William H. White, Q.C., White Duncan Linton LLP

2007 Ms Connie Giller Peterson (1948-2009) Regional Solicitor of the Region of Waterloo

2008 Walter Wintar, Barrister and Solicitor

2009 Ross F. Earnshaw, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

2010 Mervyn J. Villemaire, Q.C., Sorbara Schumacher McCann LLP

2011 Ms Phaedra Klodner, Barrister and Solicitor

2012 Stephen F. Gehl, Criminal Defence Lawyer

2013 Donald A. McIntyre, Mediation and Arbitration Practitioner

2014 William Wilson, Crown Attorney for Waterloo Region

2015 Ms Rae Y. Sands, Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada

2016 Ted Giesbrecht, Giesbrecht Griffn Funk & Irvine LLP

2017 Gary Flaxbard, Barrister and Solicitor

2018 James H. Bennett, Madorin Snyder LLP

2019 Jacqueline Armstrong Gates, Gowling WLG

2020 Brennan J. Smart

2021 Milena Protich, Lee LLP Lawyers

2022 Cynthia Davis, Giffen LLP Lawyers

2023 Clarke Melville, Melville, Krotz Lawyers

Call or Fax Us
Office: 519-742-0872
Toll Free: 1-866-201-0168
Fax: 519-742-4102

85 Frederick St
Kitchener, ON N2H 0A4

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software